Regina celebrates new joint-use schools

Education Minister Bronwyn Eyre, along with Regina Public and Catholic School Divisions, joined students and staff at École Harbour Landing School and St. Kateri Tekakwitha Catholic School to celebrate the grand opening of their new K-8 joint-use school, one of three built in Regina.

“We are pleased to celebrate this historic moment with students and staff here in Harbour Landing and to enjoy the result of years of hard work and planning in these incredible elementary schools,” Eyre said. “I thank Regina Public and Catholic School Divisions for working together to find an innovative solution that supports the remarkable growth in Regina that will benefit students and families for years to come.”

“We welcome St. Kateri’s families, staff and community into the fold of the Regina Catholic School Division,” said Donna Ziegler, chair of the Regina Catholic School Division Board. “We couldn’t be more pleased with the government’s foresight in understanding that this community was growing at lightning speed and would require the facility and teaching infrastructure to educate our most valuable asset—our children.”

“Regina’s population has grown,” said Katherine Gagne, chair of the Regina Public Board. “By working together with our partners at the Government of Saskatchewan and Regina Catholic Schools, Regina Public Schools is welcoming the increasing enrolment with this new school.”

St. Kateri Tekakwitha and École Harbour Landing Schools are designed to accommodate 1,100 students at full design capacity.

“The opening of our new school in Harbour Landing is the result of many dedicated hands working together to ensure that our students have the instructional and personal growth opportunities they deserve,” said Darcy McKeown, principal of École Harbour Landing School.

École Harbour Landing and St. Kateri Tekakwitha are part of the Joint-Use Schools Project, which includes 18 elementary schools co-owned between Catholic and public school divisions at nine locations in Regina, Saskatoon, Martensville, and Warman. Each location includes a 90-space child care centre and community space.

In Regina, the joint-use schools are located in Harbour Landing, Greens on Gardiner, and Rosewood Park. The schools were constructed using public-private partnership (P3).

The government is investing $635 million into the project, which includes the cost of construction and maintaining the schools in like-new condition over the next 30 years.  Joint Use Mutual Partnership is the P3 team that delivered the 18 new schools.

Grand opening celebrations will be hosted at all of the new schools in Regina, Saskatoon, Martensville, and Warman in September and October.

Since 2007, the Government of Saskatchewan has committed approximately $1.5 billion toward 67 major school capital projects and numerous smaller projects such as portable classrooms and preventative maintenance and renewal.

Share This Post

Recent Articles

Leave a Comment

You must be Logged in to post comment.

© 2019 Top100 Projects. All rights reserved. Site Admin · Entries RSS · Comments RSS
Powered by WordPress · Designed by Theme Junkie